About TAS

Consequent to A.P reorganization Act: 2014, the Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences (APAS) established in the year 1963, is also bifurcated into Telangana Academy of Sciences & Andhra Pradesh of Akademi of Sciences.

Accordingly, the new Telangana Academy of Sciences came into existence in place of APAS and the General Body elected the new executive Council of Telangana Academy of Sciences (TAS) under the Presidentship of Dr. Ch. Mohan Rao, Distinguished Scientist and Former Director CCMB, which started functioning independently from 30th April, 2015. The registered office of Telangana Academy of Sciences is located in OU Qtr. No: L-68, Besides International Hostel, Tarnaka, Hyderabad.

The aims and objective of the Academy are mainly advancement of Science and Technology by providing a forum for discussing Scientist developments, propagating scientific knowledge among the people and publication of books & journals on science. For the last 53 years, the activities of the Academy have added immense value to the scientific community and could successful sensitize the general public. The Academy in a bid reach the wider community and to extend its activities, has established in chapters at different parts of the state and currently Five Regional Centres at Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Hyderabad, Nalgonda, Warangal, covering 31 districts of Telangana State are actively engaged in realizing the Academy’s goals.