



National Academy of Sciences, India Jointly with **Telangana Academy of Sciences**

Cordially invite you to the

Golden Jubilee Celebrations of 'Smiling Budha'

(First Successful Nuclear Test of India)

4:00 pm on 22nd May, 2024

Vivekananda Auditorium, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Hyderabad

"May 1974 Test and Beyond" Lecture by the chief guest

Dr. R. Chidambaram

Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, Former Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet, DAE - Homi Bhabha Professor, BARC

Guest of Honour

Dr. Komal Kapoor

Chairman and Chief Executive, Nuclear Fuel Complex Hyderabad

Dr. Ch. Mohan Rao

Former Director, CCMB President, TAS, Chairman, NASI (Local Chapter), Senior Professor Emeritus, BITS Hyderabad **Presides**

S. Satyanarayana

Former Vice Chancellor, Osmania University, Gen. Secretary, TAS



Dr. Rajagopala Chidambaram is one of India's most distinguished scientists. He played a major role in the design and execution of both of India's successful nuclear tests; "Smiling Budha", 18th May 1974 and "Operation Shakti" 11th May 1998. He was the Director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission, Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India, Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet. Dr. R. Chidambaram is presently the DAE-Homi Bhabha Professor in BARC. Chairman of the Board of Governors of IIT, Jodhpur, Honorary Visiting Professor in the Department of Physics, at Banaras Hindu University.

Dr. Chidambaram has made seminal contributions to many aspects of our nuclear technology. He has received many awards and honours. Some of them include "C.V. Raman Birth Centenary Award" of the Indian Science Congress Association (1995), the Distinguished Materials Scientists of the Year Award of the Material Research Society of India(1996), R.D. Birla Award of the Indian Physics Association (1996), Homi Bhabha Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian Nuclear Society(2006), The Lifetime Achievement Award of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (2009), C.V. Raman Medal of the Indian National Science Academy (2013), Lifetime Achievement Award of A.P. Akademi of Sciences (2014), Lifetime Achievement Award of the Council of Power Utilities (2014).

Thirty universities from India and abroad have conferred honorary doctorate degrees on him. He is a Fellow of three major Science Academies in India (INSA, NASI, IAS) and the National Academy of Engineering, The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS, Trieste, Italy). The government of India honoured him with "Padma Vibhushan", the second highest civilian award in India, in 1999.

The Program:

4:00	Welcome address	Dr. A. Jyoti , Former Director, Institute of Genetics, Member of the Executive Council, TAS
4:05	Presidential Remarks	Dr. Ch. Mohan Rao , Former Director, CCMB, President, TAS, Chairman, NASI (local chapter), Senior Professor Emeritus, BITS, Hyderabad
4:10	Guest of Honour	Dr. Komal Kapoor , Chairman and Chief Executive, Nuclear Fuel Complex, Hyderabad
4:15	Introducing the Speaker	Prof. S. Satyanarayana , Former Vice Chancellor, Osmania University, General Secretary, TAS
4:20	Lecture:	"May 1974 Test and Beyond" by Dr. R. Chidambaram, Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, Former Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet, DAE - Homi Bhabha Professor, BARC
5:10	Vote of Thanks	Prof. SM Reddy , Professor of Botany (Rtd), KU Hon, Treasurer, TAS,

National Anthem